• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Calculating Student loan

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Calculating Student loan

I'm still fairly new to the whole contracting/running my own company thing, and forgot to take into account student loans payments. I do the 'usual' practice of drawing 75% of the companies profits as a wage (that 75% broken up as keeping me in the lowest tax bracket and whats left as being as a dividend). The 25% left in the company accounts is there to cover the company and personal taxes, but I'm guessing wont cover my student loan payments as well. So is there an easy way of getting a good idea what my student loan bill will be so I can start putting something aside for it?

Originally posted by pippin View Post
    The 25% left in the company accounts is there to cover the company and personal taxes

Comment

Originally posted by stek View Post
      WHS

I think that you should get an accountant who will explain it all to you.

Then you'll know why we're all going
      "I can put any old tat in my sig, put quotes around it and attribute to someone of whom I've heard, to make it sound true."
      - Voltaire/Benjamin Franklin/Anne Frank...

Comment

Student loan = 9% of gross pay over £15k

Unless you have made a typo, you have a dangerous misunderstanding of what taxes are due and how they should be paid. Get in touch with an accountant ASAP
        It's about time I changed this sig...

Comment

You may find this of benefit which is a link to the Student loans Company website