• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Ambiguity over daily and hourly rates

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ambiguity over daily and hourly rates

Hi, newbie here so I've read as much as I can but not found an answer to my query, but please point me to another thread if there's more info elsewhere.

I've just accepted a temp job through an agency (happy to name and shame if it's pertinent) and have set up an account with an umbrella to be paid.

The agent quoted me a day rate of £120 at the outset which I've agreed to and want to ensure I get. The assignment confirmation has now come through and says £15 per hour and the "standard working week is 35 hours, from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm". The £15 comes from £120/8hr. However if - as have some umbrellas calculating a quotation for me - you work out £15x7hr (ie. 7x5days=35hr week), that's only £105 per day.

I'm not sure the rules and regs about standard working week/paid lunch etc. Agent is being unclear over whether it's 7 hours or 8 hours with a paid lunch break, and is now saying "it's based on 35 hours but if you work more you'll get paid for it" which still doesn't answer what happens if I do a standard 9-5 day.

So my questions are:
    Is this a standard situation? What have others done?
    Is a lunch break 'normally' paid?