• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

UK or EU umbrella

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

UK or EU umbrella

Hi,

Complete newbie here, so apologies if I'm in the wrong place, or these are stupid questions. I'm trying to understand whether working for a UK company, on a contract based in Belgium, via an umbrella company, is a worthwhile proposition.

I've been asked if I'm interested in a contract with a former employer. They're UK-based, and it would be them that would be paying me, but the contract they have that they want me to fulfil is for a company based in Belgium. The contract is initially for six months, but it's possible it might be extended. I'd be travelling back to the UK at weekends.

I'll have no dealings with the Belgian company on a financial/business level other than to do the work; I won't be billing them or claiming expenses from them or anything like that - that would all go through the UK company that's contracted me.

Can I use an umbrella company in this situation, or is what I'm suggesting not possible? One company I've spoken to has told me they could only do this for six months, but as far as I'm concerned - and this is probably where I'm probably being completely naive and not understanding how this works - it's the UK company I'm contracted to, the work they're asking me to do just happens to be in Belgium.

Any and all advice gratefully received.