• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

How does IR35 really work for IT contractors in financial companies?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How does IR35 really work for IT contractors in financial companies?

Hello,

I work as a permanent software engineer in a bank in London City.
    There are many contractors who work in our department and who do similar work as me. And I know there are lots of IT contractors working in London banks, hedge funds and trading companies.

I am wondering how they all make themselves IR35 compliant?

They all work in the place of the employer, on the equipment of the employer, their contracts are on certain period (and not on the work to be done) and they cannot be replaced by another person. They also normally extend their contracts for one-two years. So it seems all of these contractors look much more like employed rather than self employed.

So how is it going - are IT contractors actually not using the advantage of IR35 or they all endanger themselves to be investigated and fined?

I am asking because I am planning to become a contractor and if not using the IR35 advantage then it seems not worth it.

- some may use an umbrella company, therefore ir35 does not apply
    - some may use a ltd and simply declare inside ir35 (I've only met one guy who does this)
    - others will use a ltd, and they are in scope for ir35

For those last guys, it's all about your working practices, and to a lesser extent, the actual contract.