• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Working as sole trader?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Working as sole trader?

Hi

I'm a bit new to this game so bear with me.

I have worked as a sole trader for sometime; arrangement is I agree a price for a job and work from my own premises so have none of those R35 issues.

I have done one contract as an employee via an umbrella company. I was told that this was the way to go as I didn't have a ltd co because it provided assurance to the cleint that NICs were being paid.

I've now got an op with a client who wants to bypass recruitment co's and deal direct with me on a day rate working on their premises.

My question is, if the client is happy is there any reason why I can't work direct as a sole trader selling my services on a time basis or will the IR see this as a contract and expect employer NICs to be paid by me?

I expect the answer boils down to how the contract is written but this is another cause for concern; the cleint seems to want to avoid cost of recruitment agency, contracts and hasn't even thought of timesheets. I am wary of the absence of these and how I would deal with the client if they turned out to be a bad payer.
    Last edited by bikeman; 18 March 2012, 08:06.

I've just found this article which suggests that working on a regular payment basis for them could cause problems with HMRC.

Why contractors cannot trade as sole traders