• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Enforced free training / IR35 Deemed issue???

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Enforced free training / IR35 Deemed issue???

Hi all, newbie here, and first post from long time lurker.
    I have searched for similar posts but can't quite find my question... So ;

Situation is just started first contract using Ltd co.
    Client has already booked me on a 4 day training course in a few weeks being held internally, not sure if external company are actually providing the training or some of my clients own staff.

Course is to learn a common industry project management tool they use here.

I have not been asked to pay, and they are sending a few other contractors on it too. I imagine 4 days training is worth circa £1200+ in the marketplace.

So question is should I be worried about going on this course?

Not going is not an option as client insists on use of this tool.
    Paying for it myself/my Ltd is not desirable as not even raised my first Invoice yet - and there is probably no mechanism to do this anyway here.

The only advice I found online is that contractors should pay for their own training to avoid Deemed employee challenges.

But what about my situation where effectively I am being 'forced' to take the training as a requirement of the contract.

An I worrying about nothing?

Thanks for any advice...

Originally posted by Petrolhead View Post
    Hi all, newbie here, and first post from long time lurker.