• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

How should I approach price negotiation?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How should I approach price negotiation?

Hi All

Newbie here. I have an interview Tuesday morning for a 3 month extendable contract. I've been in IT for years but this will be my first contract. Given the skills required, I seem to be an ideal fit, and the agency are certain that the job is mine.

They seem a bit woolly about the rate though. When I first spoke to them they said it would be £250 a day. I said I wanted £280 a day and they OK-ed that without hesitation. This makes me wonder if I could have asked for more and got it, particularly as they seem anxious that the client doesn't find out what they've "agreed" with me. Does this mean that the client are likely to be paying them significantly more and that I should be asking for more too?

The sums involved haven't been confirmed in writing. It's all been a bit casual if you ask me. At what point should I ask for more, or should I just be grateful for getting a job (if I do get it!) Or is it too late to ask for more? I get the impression that they are very relieved to have found someone with my skill set.

Is it completely out-of-order and not the done thing to talk money with the client when I go to see them? Suppose they are paying the agency £500 a day. Won't they be unhappy to know I'm on £280? Or do contractors just shrug their shoulders about this and decide what they'll be happy with and leave it at that?