• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Legitimate expense for Offshore Engineers?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Legitimate expense for Offshore Engineers?

Hello All,

I've been a contractor for 25 years now in the oil & gas industry. Recently I turned my hobby of building chronographs into a new sideline and set up a seperate company so that I can do it all properly.

The chronograph I build and sell is called the OFFSHORE Professional Field Engineer. It's the result of many years tinkering and breaking watches in my day job to finally come up with a fully engineered chronograph that actually stands up to the daily treatment I give it. Because of this I consider it as a suitable timekeeping tool for my trade.

The question I have is would it be an acceptable expense for other Engineers? By which I mean, if another contractor buys one can he set it off as a legitimate business expense?

I don't know but personally I doubt it.

Either way it looks nice and this review is good. I do like this comment from the review

While some may bristle at that last remark, I think it showcases the sort of no-nonsense engineering that has gone into this watch.
    Any chance of a discount?
    merely at clientco for the entertainment

Comment

Surely this is spam?

Comment

Is a watch wholly and exclusively for the business?? Is it safety wear? You would have to have a pretty exceptional situation to be able to answer yes to either of those so I would also say no personally.