• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Adding Wife into company who already in Emploment with another

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Adding Wife into company who already in Emploment with another

I'm new to the contracting world, just 8 month running..
    I wish to include my wife to look after my Limited company admin tasks.But she is already working as a fulltime permi role with another company between 9am-5pm, as my wife visa reneval is abt to due in 8 months ,so she needs to have more Gross salary

Pls advise me if it legal and possible to provide employment to my wife in my Ltd company as part time job after 5pm,

Do she need to inform her present employer abt this part time job plan,also should i include her as a share holder to provide employment

seeking any advises & suggestions pls

sarva

Originally posted by sarva81 View Post
    Pls advise me if it legal and possible to provide employment to my wife in my Ltd company as part time job after 5pm,
    Yes, it's legal and possible. If, however, you are paying for something that she doesn't do, or you are paying something way over the odds, then there's a chance that you would fall foul of the Ramsay principle. Make sure you document what she is doing, and how much you are paying her for. Don't use it as a tax dodge or a scam to try and get a visa.

Do she need to inform her present employer abt this part time job plan
    Possibly - what does her contract with her employer say?

,also should i include her as a share holder to provide employment