• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

A choice to make

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A choice to make

Hello,
    I have been a permanent employee for 10 years (7 years as a network manager) in Healthcare.
    The government plans for primary care in the UK are practically to outsource alot of the previous in house I.T services - of which I am a part. We have been informed that we're on a ticket to redundancy, which I have no problem with.
    I have been studying for 2 years (in preparation) for the above - as soon as I got the letter informing me of the impending government plans - when in a permie role, my qualifications had lapsed and didn't represent my actual real world skillset - although the experience is there.
    So I'm happily still studying and currently at CCNP level with (as mentioned) 7 years experience in an infrastructure management role.

My question is really based on what to do next, that would put me in a better position for contracting. My hope is that there will be a requirement shortly for healthcare spec'd network engineers.

1. Complete CCNA wireless and/or Voice and/or Security
    - main reason for this is that I'm not just routing & switching, can basically tackle everything lan based comms? jack of all trades
    2. Continue toward CCIE
    - I would estimate that the written component would only just be reachable before redundancy looms.
    3. Update MCSA