• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Self Assessment (SA)

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Self Assessment (SA)

Hi,

I am still new to contracting and have to do my self assessment for 2011/2012.

Two questions are confusing:

Did you make contributions towards a personal pension or retirement annuity? This does not include payments you make to your employer's pension scheme, which are deducted from your pay:
    My own Ltd company paid every month a sum into a pension plan for myself as an employee. But this was not deducted as such from the monthly salary, it was an extra perk, the way I see it. So from Self assessment point of view, what is the answer to this question?

The other question is:

Have you had any 2011-12 Income Tax refunded or off-set by us or JobCentre Plus?
    Well I have received in January 2012 a personal tax refund for 2010/11, which was the result of my previous year self assessment. Does this affect the answer to this question or do I select 'No' ?

Later on within the section of my employment within my own company as a director the following question is asked:

Have you received any taxable benefits and expense payments from xxx Ltd ?
    Well, do I have to put the company pension contributions as a taxable benefit or not?

Many Thanks,

The Pension question is only relevant if you paid it personally, not if your employer paid. Therefore you can ignore that question. It's also not a benefit in kind.

The tax refund from a prior year can also be ignored.