PDA

View Full Version : Remote desktop broadband requirements in UK



aussielong
2nd May 2012, 12:28
What kind of Internet connection do you need in the uk if you want to work from Home using a remote desktop into your office machine?

I'm trying to work out if I can work from home whilst visiting my folks in the uk

blacjac
2nd May 2012, 12:34
I manage it with ~1mb connection.

Thank god I am moving back to somewhere with a population soon...

Scoobos
2nd May 2012, 12:37
You can do it with 100kb per user - if you do the following:

Reduce the desktop to 16bit from 32
Browse locally, rather than on RDP

my 2 cents (on 128kb now RDP office)

doomage
2nd May 2012, 12:41
Doesn't everyone have 100MB cable?

Spacecadet
2nd May 2012, 12:57
Remote Desktop is actually quite good with regards to connection needs.
I've had good experiences even when on a not so good mobile connection.

Scoobos
2nd May 2012, 12:57
Doomage ->

No, and if you're with Virgin media , using their "SuperHub" I bet you don't either (in peak hours). Unless you're super lucky and one of the golden few who do get the 100MB.

According to OFCOM, you only need 20% of whats advertised during peak hours and its ok.

Sysman
2nd May 2012, 13:13
According to OFCOM, you only need 20% of whats advertised during peak hours and its ok.

That's laughable.

If I get less than the advertised speed at any time of the day it's usually because the server at the other end is slow.

Of course I'm not in the UK.

d000hg
2nd May 2012, 13:13
When we were looking at offshoring at a former employer, we tested what connection would let them access our PCs adequately (we wanted to keep the work and test kit on-site). I seem to remember we got down to 64Kb but that was with VNC rather than RDP.

aussielong
2nd May 2012, 13:31
Thanks, i've decided to go with a serviced office. Cheap and gets me away from the relatives for a bit each day.

doomage
2nd May 2012, 13:33
Doomage ->

No, and if you're with Virgin media , using their "SuperHub" I bet you don't either (in peak hours). Unless you're super lucky and one of the golden few who do get the 100MB.

According to OFCOM, you only need 20% of whats advertised during peak hours and its ok.

Fair enough.

Doesn't everyone have upwards of 80MB cable?

AtW
2nd May 2012, 13:35
I used RDP over 56k modem, slow but works - 1 Mbit+ should do the trick, ideally with latency below 50 ms.

A lot of GUI "eye candy" can be turned off for RDP session or altogether on remote computer.

NorthWestPerm2Contr
2nd May 2012, 15:34
I used RDP over 56k modem, slow but works - 1 Mbit+ should do the trick, ideally with latency below 50 ms.

A lot of GUI "eye candy" can be turned off for RDP session or altogether on remote computer.

RDP on anything over 2MB and it is as if your at the machine.....

AtW
2nd May 2012, 15:36
RDP on anything over 2MB and it is as if your at the machine.....

Aye, it's suprisingly efficient product for Microsoft... probably bought some company who did the work.

Sysman
2nd May 2012, 15:38
Aye, it's suprisingly efficient product for Microsoft... probably bought some company who did the work.

Don't they do that with everything decent that they bring out?

Scoobos
2nd May 2012, 15:47
I think the opposite tbh, bought in is crap - in house is great

VectraMan
2nd May 2012, 16:45
Aye, it's suprisingly efficient product for Microsoft... probably bought some company who did the work.

Wasn't it Citrix? Who did what became Terminal Server.

Depends what you're doing of course. Notepad, works great. Testing real time graphics and video processing applications, not so much.

vetran
3rd May 2012, 00:06
20k to South Africa, lots of tea breaks but usable, 50K+ with no eye candy and it was no worse than 1MB to the states.

But as mentioned it aint 'real time'

AtW
3rd May 2012, 00:09
Don't they do that with everything decent that they bring out?

Yes but usually they totally bloat code over and kill performance. :eyes

AtW
3rd May 2012, 00:11
Wasn't it Citrix? Who did what became Terminal Server.

Supposedly not - Remote Desktop Protocol - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Remote_Desktop_Protocol)

My guess it was done by old skool people who knew about performance and realised it needs to be really fast over tulipy 33.6k modem connections.