• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Question regarding FIXED TERM contract (NOTICE PERIOD)

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question regarding FIXED TERM contract (NOTICE PERIOD)

Hello people,
    i was wondering if someone could give me legal advice in regards to my notice period

Im currently a contractor and ive just been extended for 2 months by my agency.

naturally, as the contract is only for 2 more months im going to be looking at other job opportunities so im not left jobless by the end.

When i emailed my agency to confirm WHAT the notice period is, this is what they said...

"There isn’t a notice clause in the contract except in the case of breach of contract by either party. It is fixed term.

can someone clarify what this means?
    does this mean i can just leave without any notice period? im not sure...

thanks for your help, much appreciated

Joe

What does your contract say on the first page?

It should say something like 'FIXED TERM CONTRACT for 01/xx/xx - 31/xx/xx'

As you're not a native English speaker: The term of the contract is Fixed from 01/xx/xx - 31/xx/xx; therefore it means that you can only leave at the end of the fixed term (31/x/xx).

Of course this isn't a problem, just get your next contract to begin the following Monday (I'm guessing that the last day is a Friday...)
    "I can put any old tat in my sig, put quotes around it and attribute to someone of whom I've heard, to make it sound true."
    - Voltaire/Benjamin Franklin/Anne Frank...

Comment