PDA

View Full Version : Legal rights when you end a contract for a new one that actually did not happen

GregL
1st July 2012, 23:09
Hi,

This just happened to me and I wanted to get some legal advice regarding what I can do to cover potential losses: I am a freelancer/contractor in IT and I told my previous customer I'd start a new contract soon and will go on a training for this new customer (all paid by the new customer) before returning for a few days (some work to be finished) and then leave for good. After the training, the agency told me that a few of us actually didn't satisfy the technical requirements during the trainings (we were actually tested, without being told upfront..) and so we wouldn't get the promised contract (we didn't sign anything, although we were provided an employee ID and login/pw). They actually took more people for the positions needed (on purpose or not, that is another question). The new contract was short term, 2-3months only, but I would have benefitted quite a lot after that, in terms of market/experience, more than money.

My question is: can I ask for a compensation for "loss of business" (or similar) for quitting my previous customer for this ghost position and also turned down a few other propositions while in the interview/training process? I have a Ltd company, if that can be of any help..

Thanks in advance for your replies,

Greg

LisaContractorUmbrella
2nd July 2012, 06:44
Hi,