• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

To rent a room or to rent a house...

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

To rent a room or to rent a house...

Guys a newbie here and I have done a serious amount of homework on the subject..and all is good. And this forum has helped a lot so thank you for that.

my question is obviously up to me but i wanted to ask what others are doing, especially as i can offset the rental as an expense.

basically i can take home more a month if i pay more for a rented Apartment or house as i can expense it say 1200 per month for a house

and a double room ( so i travel home at weekends ) is 700 per month

now i take home less after tax if i just take the room so I was going to rent my house and rent an apartment or house and take home more - other wise the tax man gets it..

now to me its a no brainer but i am paying more and taking home more.... something doesn't add up!

its a year contract.

what are others doing?

I can't follow your logic.

If this is your main residence you can't expense it.

Comment

If you're spending it then it's not 'take home' is it? You will pay tax on PROFIT but not EXPENSES. Plus, like PL said, if you have a house and don't 'go home' then it's your main residence and you can't expense it at all.

Personally I rent a room, having just lucked out where the other tenant works away Mon-Fri so I have the place to myself.

Comment