• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Need legal advice on restrictive covenant on a Freelance contract

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need legal advice on restrictive covenant on a Freelance contract

Hi,
    I'm a foreigner, I'd like to have advice on the British restrictive covenant clause.

The situation:
    I'm a freelancer contracting with a Company A through a Recruitment agency B.

Company A pays a lot of fees in order to hire me as a freelancer through the recruitment agency B.

Company A would like to hire someone directly, without going through the Agency B.

I would like to enter a partnership with a friend to work directly for Company A through his trading name, so we could offer them a lot more services than I currently do alone.

I would make slightly more money and I would be a lot cheaper than I currently am for Company A.

My contract contains a restrictive covenant that forbids me from entering into business directly with Company A.
    The clause is as follow: