• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Reasons to terminate a three month contract early...

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Reasons to terminate a three month contract early...

I've read posts on CUK where some have discussed the possibility of giving early notice on a three month gig.

Being a contractor, I appreciate that I am hired in some cases to work on aspects of a project which either permi staff cannot do or wish not to. I also expect to ignore the politics etc. and do the best I can for the time I am employed. I have done gigs at some rather testing places but I have never cancelled early; that option feels wrong for so many reasons. I would much rather see out the 12 weeks and not renew.

I'm curious as to why some decide to end a contract early which is only due to last for 12 weeks?

Some may just want out, some may have found a 6 month roller thats more lucrative; depends on your morals.

Someone says here, they're a fiscal nomad, and thats about the rub if it: you make your own decisions based on your own ruleset

Comment

Originally posted by Old Hack View Post
      Some may just want out, some may have found a 6 month roller thats more lucrative; depends on your morals.

Someone says here, they're a fiscal nomad, and thats about the rub if it: you make your own decisions based on your own ruleset