• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Getting a Mortgage - First House - 4 months Contracting

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Getting a Mortgage - First House - 4 months Contracting

Hello everybody

I have been following this forum for a while and it has always been of great help.

I was intending to buy my first house. Key facts:

- I have been contracting for 4 months, first time. I used to be a permie.
    - The idea is to buy my first property after 6 months, once my contract is renewed, with a property value of circa 200K
    - Deposit: 35K

I contacted contractor mortgages made easy and, although I received a good feedback, it seems that I am not eligible. Lenders require a minimum of 12 months contracting. The company I work for is relocating and want me to continue with them so it all seems ok, I was planning to buy a first property near the new location as I have been renting for far too long.

Does anyone have any other companies I could talk to? Or any other recommendations?

I could rent for 6 more months and built up a bigger deposit with views of buying after 12 months, however my preference was not to rent again...

Thanks

S

Originally posted by Segush View Post
    Hello everybody

I have been following this forum for a while and it has always been of great help.

I was intending to buy my first house. Key facts:

- I have been contracting for 4 months, first time. I used to be a permie.