• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Cut Out Agent At Contract Renewal ?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cut Out Agent At Contract Renewal ?

Hi all,

I find myself in, perhaps, an unusual position and as a newbie I'd appreciate some opinions.

I am contracted through an agency to another firm who are the sole supplier of temporary staff to a very well known company.

To be clear, we have

Well known company : a few permies
    Sole supplier : a fair number of permies and the rest contactors
    My agency
    Me ( or more specifically, my company )

Now my agent is an untrustworthy fellow. I'm ashamed to admit that he rather took advantage to my newbie-ness to lie to me about opting out
    and also managed to stiff me on the rate post-interview. More fool me. Lesson learned.

This setup also means that I'm subject to double 'agency' fees. Contractors who are directly contracted to the sole supplier are probably on a fair bit more than me given my
    agent is a bit of a shyster and is probably taking a hefty margin.

However, things are not all doom and gloom.

Firstly, I signed the opt-out after the introduction but before I started work, so I believe that it's invalid.

Secondly, the sole supplier is going to be replaced with a different sole supplier at just the time that my contract comes up for renewal. I've read my contract carefully and it restricts me