• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Career Break and HMRC

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Career Break and HMRC

Hi, I am working at a reputed company (with 5000 employees) since 4 years. Due to some professional reasons, I have decided to take one year career break. During this time I want to go and work in a different company on a contract basis for 8 months. I have couple of questions. Can you please advice me?

1) Can I work as a contractor?
    2) What is about HMRC? As I am not getting the P45, who am I going to my pay tax?
    3) What happens to my NI contribution?

Many thanks,

1) Nope
    2) See 1
    3) See 1

Have a good day.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

1. If you're real, then read the first timers' guides.
      2. If not, then I cordially introduce you to General.

Comment

Originally posted by realityhack View Post
        Unlucky. If the company you'd been working for >7500 employees then you could have worked as a contractor. If you're with someone like Accenture/Tata etc you can also get free training & dental car.
        What happens in General, stays in General.
        You know what they say about assumptions!

Comment

Originally posted by MarillionFan View Post
          Unlucky. If the company you'd been working for >7500 employees then you could have worked as a contractor. If you're with someone like Accenture/Tata etc you can also get free training & dental car.
          what's dental car ?

Is that a big shiny white car ?

Comment