• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

is my contract worth opening a company?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

is my contract worth opening a company?

hello world,
    i am very new to contracting world.
    i got 3 months of contract, pay is 130 gbp per day.

what do you suggest? should i join umbrella company? or open my own limited company? which option would give me more money (net income)?

i can handle hassle involved with opening a company if it gives me more money - in fact i think it's no more of hassle if you go with accountant - they do all paper work.

anyway, please suggest.

my expenses are going to be on public transport and food, primarily.

thanks.

Originally posted by pappa View Post
    hello world,

what do you suggest? should i join umbrella company? or open my own limited company? which option would give me more money (net income)?

i can handle hassle involved with opening a company if it gives me more money - in fact i think it's no more of hassle if you go with accountant - they do all paper work.

anyway, please suggest.

thanks.
    I suggest look to the right hand side of the page.
    Look under the heading CUK Navigation
    Click on the 3rd item down called "First Timers"
    You may also want to click on "Limited Companies" & "Umbrella Companies"

Are you going to be contracting all the time or will this be your only contract - if the latter then a brolly is the way to go for 3 months, but you need to do a bit of research first.

Comment

PS - welcome to the world of contracting