• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Newbie looking for help... the sums dont add up

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie looking for help... the sums dont add up

I wonder if anyone can help please, Im new to contracting .... and just got my first one

ive just signed up to a large umbrella company and have had a breakdown of my finances sent over but they dont make sense.

I was told that i could claim 45p/mile and it would be approx £228 per month.

when i have been sent the breakdown from the umbrella company, they are showing the £228 as a deduction from the weekly pay, and then in the breakdown of what I will get Net they have showing the £228 as money I will receive.

So say im on £1k a week, there taking the £228 off that ( as well as NI etc) and then in the take come pay, there showing approx £x amount and then the £228
    What I dont understand why are they taking the £228 from my monthly amount, and then showing me receive it as travel expenses in the next column.

So i dont understand its showing me paying £228 expenses then receiving £228 back, so im not getting any expenses im paying it out to receive it..... this isnt right is it ????? iis this normal

Any help appreciated....