• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

opt out notification advantage

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

opt out notification advantage

I'm a Hongkong resident and IT freelance, I work for US firm in Hongkong through UK agent, the agent asked me to sign "opt out notification" form, so does it mean I donot have employement relationship with agent and no need
    for me to pay 40% UK income tax?

if I sign "opt out notification", actually I will not pay any tax because Hongkong tax authorization will not know I am employeed by overseas client.

But the drawback is agent can terminate contract immediately or not paying any single cent after I work for a month because we are montly settled. am I right?

I don't want to be hired under the client direcly, I want to be freelance

waiting for reply, thanks

Originally posted by jolinc View Post
    I'm a Hongkong resident and IT freelance, I work for US firm in Hongkong through UK agent, the agent asked me to sign "opt out notification" form, so does it mean I donot have employement relationship with agent and no need
    for me to pay 40% UK income tax?

if I sign "opt out notification", actually I will not pay any tax because Hongkong tax authorization will not know I am employeed by overseas client.

But the drawback is agent can terminate contract immediately or not paying any single cent after I work for a month because we are montly settled. am I right?

I don't want to be hired under the client direcly, I want to be freelance

waiting for reply, thanks