• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Moving from Umbrella to Limited at contract renewal

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Moving from Umbrella to Limited at contract renewal

Hi All,

Apologies if this has been covered elsewhere but I have had trouble finding a suitable answer on the forums.

I have been contracting for the past six months using an umbrella company and my contract is currently up for renewal. As part of the renewal I have asked the agency for the new contract to be with my newly formed Limited Company. The agency has advised as I will be providing services for the same end client my contract will immediately be higher risk of being deemed to be inside IR 35 in the event of a HMRC investigation.

Is there any truth to what I have been told by the agency ?

My understanding is that the terms of the contract and working practices are the determining factors in deciding whether my contract is inside/outside IR 35 so the fact I have previously contracted with the client using an umbrella should be irrelevant.

I imagine the move from Umbrella to Limited at contract renewal is fairly common in the contracting game and would greatly appreciate any advice.

Thanks in advance !

Originally posted by BBCSL View Post
    My understanding is that the terms of the contract and working practices are the determining factors in deciding whether my contract is inside/outside IR 35 so the fact I have previously contracted with the client using an umbrella should be irrelevant.