• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Investment Funds Self Management / SIPPs - how easy to do ?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Investment Funds Self Management / SIPPs - how easy to do ?

I have been using an IFA to manage my financial affairs for the past 10 years or so and have a wide range of investments, building up hopefully a nice little nest egg for the kiddies.

I have never been comfortable with what I see as being pretty high charges from them, although have agreed that no trail commission will be taken for policies set up. However receving my last 6 month statement for a couple of these policies, I have noticed that trail commission is being taken. I have asked the IFA to explain why this is and no comeback yet.

I have for a while been looking at moving away from my IFA and go into self or managed fund selection and management / SIPP route. I have always been put off by this due to choice of funds to choose and time primarily, not that I move things around that often.

For those who do undertake self fund management, can you advise how easy you find this to do, anything that you need to particulary consider, pitfalls etc.

TIA.

I have a SIPP (shares rather than finds) with Hargreaves Lansdown and its very straight forward, if you can do on line backing you can do this, HL have a lot of information you can research on the shares or funds, costs are a little high (£11.95 per trade) but only have a management fee of no more than £200 a year for shares