• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Newbie to contracting- first pay, and seemed to have had alot taken

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie to contracting- first pay, and seemed to have had alot taken

Im new to contracting, and have been paid for 12 days work (started mid month)

I'm using a well know umbrella company, Im on a day rate of £200 a day. so £2400 for the 12 days ive worked is what was invoiced yet when Ive received my pay ive got £1488.

The payslip isnt complete available yet, but can anyone shed some light on why im paying £922?

I was originally told that with milleage allowance etc I should be gettins approx £148 a day after contributions etc. This is working out approx £122 a day.

Any advice /help appreciated.

Have you tried asking the well-known umbrella company?

They might tell you exactly whats going on.

Comment

Originally posted by bless 'em all View Post
      Have you tried asking the well-known umbrella company?

They might tell you exactly whats going on.

You would think.... I called up and they cant see the payslip either yet?:

Comment

So your take home is about 68%

Out of your invoice you will have had several deductions.
        Employees National Insurance
        Employers National Insurance (you pay this also)
        Income Tax
        Their fee.