• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

First week, new gig...

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First week, new gig...

Usual, no lappy, not 'built', borrowed a 1990's desktop, sat reading docs all week. Actually have a login that works, but no pass so have to borrow one to go for a slash.

Still, feels like a good gig, worlds apart from the HP/DWP fiasco I've just come off.

Gig is in Dublin, and me despite having a totally Irish name and totally Irish family, this is my first time in Ireland, one thing I have learned is 'There is more to Oireland, Dan Dis...' I fecking love it!

Ireland is like a non-PC UK, not seen a copper yet, speeding is ok, taxi driver was driving while reading his paper, but food is freaking expensive and there's no canteen

Luas tram system is cool, I like the way the green line and the red line are linked only by what looks like on the map a man walking up a small escalator, which is in fact meant to designate a 25 minute walk. And people don't wait till people get OFF the tram before getting on, how annoying is that?

45 minute flight, 70 minute airport bus to work, not bad, had a lot worse, Ryanair but it's cheap I suppose...

I fancy visiting Ireland, I hear its mostly white people.

Comment

Originally posted by escapeUK View Post
      I fancy visiting Ireland, I hear its mostly white people.