• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Why would this scheme for getting revenue and paying less tax not work?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Why would this scheme for getting revenue and paying less tax not work?

I am a contractor and working for a company X who would pay me say 300 pounds per day (so around 6600 per month). They don't care whichever way they pay me that. Contract is for 1 year and I don't care for any time after that - my focus is to minimize tax payout in 1st year only, fully abiding by current laws

I set up a limited liability company Y with say 25 shares (each with a par value = 1 GBP at time of registration) and each month X buys one share of Y from me (the director who at start holds all the shares) for 6600. This is done for 12 months, and at the end of 12 months, I have 13 shares in X and company Y has 12 shares in X. I have made a capital gain of 12*(6600 - 1) and I pay 20% tax on this as capital gains

So company X has no revenues, no expenses, no corporation tax. Me the director just has a capital gains and a CGT on it. In the end my aim is to get the money in my own account, which this scheme does.

Is there a flaw in this logic?

Thanks

Originally posted by dowjones123 View Post