• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

how much of expense is returned ?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

how much of expense is returned ?

Hi
    I’m new to contracting and have a question about expenses, Lets say I charge client £10,000 VAT in year 1.
    And here are my expenses for year one…
    £1,000 accommodation and travel
    £3,000 others
    Do I get to keep £4,000 of the VAT and return 6,000 to the tax man?
    Apologizes if it sounds like a stupid or simple question but I have searched internet and all they talk about is what can be claimed, they hardly touch on how its calculated and how much is refunded etc…
    Thanks

Originally posted by contractor0118 View Post
    I’m new to contracting and have a question about expenses, Lets say I charge client £10,000 VAT in year 1.
    And here are my expenses for year one…
    £1,000 accommodation and travel
    £3,000 others
    Do I get to keep £4,000 of the VAT and return 6,000 to the tax man?
    Wow, it would be nice if it did work like that! Sorry but the answer to that question is NO!

The confusion often arises because expenses which are paid to an employee by an employer are in addition to your salary and are not taxable. You can go large on your expenses and it costs your employer money, not you. However, as a self employed business person operating a LTD company, you are the owner of the company so any expenses paid to you by the company come out of the company's profits which is ultimately out of your pocket.