• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Dumb FRS question

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dumb FRS question

I'm new to FRS and just wanted to check, FRS VAT is charged on the gross income? i.e. if I bill a client £1000 + VAT@20%, under FRS I would pay 14.5% of £1200.

So for most purposes, a 14.5% FRS VAT rate is equivalent to saying I charge my client 20% and pay HMRC 17.4% of the net invoice amount?
    Originally posted by MaryPoppins
    I'd still not breastfeed a nazi
    Originally posted by vetran
    Urine is quite nourishing

The example here would indicate this is correct...

The VAT Flat Rate Scheme Explained
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by d000hg View Post
      I'm new to FRS and just wanted to check, FRS VAT is charged on the gross income? i.e. if I bill a client £1000 + VAT@20%, under FRS I would pay 14.5% of £1200.
      Correct - you make a slight profit if all you are charging for is your time.

Don't forget the rate you pay to HMRC is discounted by 1% in your first year.

Comment

Originally posted by ctdctd View Post
        Correct - you make a slight profit if all you are charging for is your time.

Don't forget the rate you pay to HMRC is discounted by 1% in your first year.
        Only in the first year of VAT registration and bearing in mind the OP is a long time poster I am sure he has been VAT registered for over a year. He is only new to FRS, not VAT.

Comment