• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Professional Indemnity Insurance - but do I need Public Liability too?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Professional Indemnity Insurance - but do I need Public Liability too?

Hi There, I am a newb IT contractor making switch from perm to first contract, Limited Co.I am about to get Public Indemnity Insurance, as requested by agency. Noone has mentioned how much so I am going with 1 million which seems pretty standard around here.

My question is, do I need to add on Public Liability insurance as well?

I am sole director and shareholder (at moment, unless someone can advise me otherwise), no dodgy wives in company doing nothing for 7K (I am the wife and I do plenty!). So I have no employees (I think?)

If not requested, one-man band, and standard IT contractor for a bank - do I need it?

Thanks (all advice welcome - I got first contract on Friday and they want me to start next week!) (but don't worry, am meeting with accountant on Monday and know about gettimg contract checked for IR35 etc)

It's probably not necessary, unless agent / client insists on it.

Normally Professional Imdemnity is standalone, and other insurances are bundled together - Employers Liablity, Public Liability, business contents etc - business all risks.