• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Best Value Contractor Sickness Cover

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Best Value Contractor Sickness Cover

I've been contracting for a few years now, at 31 & in good health hadn't bothered with any sickness cover. However a friend of mine, same age (in a permie role) was taken ill with a long term serious illness. This made me think I should get some cover in place. My mortgage repayments are covered in the event of death or illness but I don't have any other cover.
    I have Professional Indeminity & Public Liabilty cover with QDOS so I started there. They offer a sickness cover of £1,500/month for upto 12 months for £35.86/month. The T&C seems reasonable & fair.
    Can anyone recomend any other companies I should look at to compare cover? Also interested to hear if anyone has made a claim & how easy it was to actually receive the payments.

It's what your war chest is for shirley?
    Blood in your poo

Comment

I have one of those which would keep me going for 12 months, longer if I adjusted my spending. However if I was thinking along the lines of a serious illness/disabilty which left me unable to work for years/forever. Perhaps this is just a risk in Contracting. Someone from Contractor Financials is going to call back later as they have some products I want to have a look at.

Comment

Originally posted by Coolshot View Post