• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Supplementing income with freelance work - LTD?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Supplementing income with freelance work - LTD?

I'm currently a contractor with an umbrella company. My contract ends in July and I'm not sure whether I'll be going perm or continuing as a contractor.

I was recently offered some additional work by a friend - he wants me to maintain his website for £100 a month.

Is it necessary to set up as an LTD for this? Register as sole trader?

If it's a good friend - beerware
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f0anaCNDvGo

Comment

Personally I wouldn't touch it for £100 a month. The old mantra of never mixing business with pleasure can often prove right but if I was going to do it and risk falling it out over it would be for either a lot more than £100 or I do it as a favour and be owed one so he can't complain if he doesn't like what you do. You can also back out when he wants an hour, then another hour, then a full redesign, then full SEO all for nothing. If he is paying you he could feel short changed and problems start.

But... If you are going to do it I would invoice him, ask him to pay it in to my business account and pay every penny of tax owed on it
      'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Yes, I normally wouldn't bother with this sort of thing, except I don't really have to do anything other than make sure nothing bad happens to the site on the server (which takes automatic backups anyway)!