• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Loans and Write-off

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Loans and Write-off

Hi

Apologies if this seems like a daft question, but I'm a bit of newbie.

My question relates to loans and what the tax implications are of my limited company offering me a Director's Loan before subsequently writing it off (if needs be).

Also, is it possible for me to loan to another company and then write it off?

If anyone could shed light on this it would be great.

Thanks

Dan

Originally posted by dandaman View Post
    Hi

My question relates to loans and what the tax implications are of my limited company offering me a Director's Loan before subsequently writing it off (if needs be).

Thanks

Dan
    You can, you control the company and what it does with its money. You'll be prosecuted for tax evasion of course, but I assume you've covered that already.
    Blog? What blog...?

Comment

Originally posted by malvolio View Post
      You can, you control the company and what it does with its money. You'll be prosecuted for tax evasion of course, but I assume you've covered that already.
      Well put!

Comment

Originally posted by dandaman View Post
        Hi

Thanks

Dan
        You can make a loan to a director legally, however this has several tax implications, listed below: