• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Home Based engineer going contracting

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Home Based engineer going contracting

Good Morning,

I've been reading lots about the inside/outside ir35 issues and I'm looking for some pointers

I'm currently an engineer that is based from home (miles from the office) that covers the north of England. It look like the company are going to get us to be contractors.

I will be working across many different sites in the north and will be expected to provide my own car (they will pay mileage), basic tools and complete and pay for training as required by the job to stay up-to-date.

This sounds like to me to be in and out of ir35....but if I'm classed as in, it seems that I will have a large expense with regards the car and training....which would require the company to offer a large daily rate to make it worth my while compared to be a permie.

Also the contract is initially just for 12 months 37 hours a week

any advise would be great

cheers

Definitely caught by IR35, no doubt at all,

Comment

Agreed - this scenario is precisely what IR35 is meant to combat.