• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Permie to Contractor

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Permie to Contractor

Hi
    I am new to the world of contracting, well not entirely new, 5years ago I did a short contract under an Umbrella company (Giant) but really lost out on it. So this time I want to do it properly and setup in the most tax efficient way.
    I do fill out Self assessment because of the travel expenses arrangements my current company has so not sure what bearing that will have on me. From the advice on this site it seems that setting up a limited company with myself as the director and then paying myself a minimum wage is the way to go as a contractor. Then occassionally paying myself dividends from the company. Is this correct and if I land myself a contract through an agency then I am likely to fall under IR35? I can also register myself for a flat VAT rate but not sure what this is? Also there seems to be something about a 5% rule for expenses but I need clarifying on this.

Other questions I have:
    1. Will I need a business bank account?
    2. Shall I do the paperwork myself to setup the company or should I get a service as advertised on here?
    3. I assume I will need an accountant?
    4. I am in the process of purchasing training materials for myself, can I claim against company even though they are purchased prior to the setup of the company?
    5. Is there any software to help with invoicing the agency/company , etc.

Sorry for all the questions and I am sure there will be more.