• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Plan B - Getting to grips what 'real' businesses charge for software

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Plan B - Getting to grips what 'real' businesses charge for software

A Plan B involves creating bespoke software for companies. I sometimes get asked early on "roughly what does this cost" and find it hard to give them an answer because the numbers are so big I think they'll laugh in my face!

Some people here must know about this stuff; my background is as a developer so I am reliant on doing the arithmetic without past experience.

I know in the UK, a decent developer can get £400/day on contract work so clearly a business is not losing money on that - they typically pay permies less but let's say including all overheads and the agent's cut, a developer costs £500/day all-in. So I will even neglect trying to put a mark-up on that and simply say I charge people out at £500/man-day.

Now a small team big enough to get something useful done - 3 people full-time seems about right. 20 days a month, so we're looking at £30k/month. A medium sized project could easily run to a year.

So with a pretty minimal team, we're talking £350k a year. Add a 4th person or factor in profit on top, and we're at half a million quid!

And the issue is, I know some competitors are using cheap resources from around the world, working remotely for $20/hr. I could hire those people too, but that's a new-ish trend and many companies don't, and stay in business.