• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

£140 day rate.....what is the equivalent salary PAYE figure?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
Collapse
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

£140 day rate.....what is the equivalent salary PAYE figure?

hello,

this is my first time ever contracting. iv'e decided to set up my own company (i'm an accountant, part qualified at the moment but good experience).
    ive got my first contract through an agency initially for 6 months. All ive been told is that its a day rate of £140.

i have not signed anything yet, and haven't seen the contract yet. I'm trying to determine what it is worth (both inside and outside IR35) if it was represented as an annual gross salary figure...
    what is £140 equivalent to?

if i do this calculation: £140 x 5 days x 45 weeks = £31,500
    and put that figure into here The Salary Calculator - Take-Home tax calculator i get a net monthly income of £1,752.87 (5% personal pension contribution, student loan repayment 1)

when i put that same £140 daily rate into here: IR35 Calculator - How much does IR35 Cost you?

i get a net monthly income of £1,599

i dont understand. why is it so much lower?

Originally posted by mosaslop View Post
    hello,

this is my first time ever contracting. iv'e decided to set up my own company (i'm an accountant, part qualified at the moment but good experience).
    ive got my first contract through an agency initially for 6 months. All ive been told is that its a day rate of £140.