• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Practising being a recruiter at WH Smith

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Practising being a recruiter at WH Smith

I am wholly self taught as a recruiter and people occasionally wonder what one needs to do to build skills of being arrogant, supercilious, high handed and talking too loudly.

I do this by applying these respected techniques in my everyday life.

So last week I was in WM Smith and overheard them shafting some old guy who'd bought some booklet which turned out to have pages missing.

Turns out that WH Smith don't give receipts for "small" items and therfore were refusing to refund him.

Being the sort of self important bastard I am, I joined in the conversation, pointing out the Sale of Goods act, and using phrases like "you sold him defective goods" more frequently and loudly than normal polite conversation would require. I helped this old guy make a fuss and asked to see the manager. It may surprise you to learn that I clearly used these phrases even when no one was speaking to me and in a way that ensured all customers in the central London store heard it, several times.

They at first refused and asked what it was to do with me, I pointed out in a loud clear voice that as a City Headhunter it was my duty to ensure that people's rights were respected. For some reason this duty is not well known and they were taken aback.