• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Best Bank

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Best Bank

Hi I'm new to contracting. Been looking around on the boards and it looks like the best banks for a business are Abbey or Cator Allen. Both seem to offer similar terms and rates (though the reserve rates are'nt competitive compared with a person savings account - is there another way of storing money in your company?). Can anyone suggest which is the better? Or even another option?

I'm 30 (need to make some cash while the work is still there!) and plan to contract for 5-7 years while getting as much cash into the business as possible before folding (hence want the best banking deal), does this seem like the best approach tax wise?

Abbey owns Cater Allen. Cater Allen has NO Internet banking which is a massive pain in the arse.

Comment

Originally posted by DimPrawn
      Abbey owns Cater Allen. Cater Allen has NO Internet banking which is a massive pain in the arse.
      Yep - completely unnacceptable IMO.

I went with Barclays setup by the company formation agents, but that was also a pain in the arse. I'd advise walking down to your local high street and go see whichever bank you feel like. They're all more or less as bad as each other, and it'll be less painful if it's one you can easily get to.