• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

What am I doing wrong ?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What am I doing wrong ?

I have been a silent reader of this forum until recently when I couldn't hold the urge to get some experienced advice. I have been a newbie contractor in the IT networking industry and have so far managed to grab only 2 gigs with the second one being a very short term consultancy job worth just 15 days that ended in May 2013. I have since been on the lookout for a new one and have had no luck. I used to get calls from agencies initially but thanks to this forum, I learned how they were just bogus opportunities and were only after the invaluable 2 references. Anyway, so here's the situation - for some reason I have not been getting many calls lately regardless whether they are genuine opportunities or not. Infact, I give myself a little treat if I get even 1 call in a week. I apply for at least 5-6 gigs almost everyday and without bragging about myself, I don't think my CV isn't even worth a phone call. I do also have quite a few certifications to add to my skillset.

My first contract ended abruptly and I wasn't fully prepared for this(which is another long story) so financially I wouldn't be able to last long like this and I have a family and kids to look after. I therefore thought of applying for some well paying permies but its more or less the same situation there. I therefore have a few queries and seeking some helpful advice