• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Working out pension growth rate

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Working out pension growth rate

I've been paying into my pension monthly for 8 years and would like to work out what the investment growth rate has been. I'm sure I've done it wrong, as I came up with an answer of 10% but I'm sure that's too high.

I know
    (1) how much i've paid in every month since I started
    (2) the actual valuation in March every year

My steps were:
    for every year:
    (1) (current year's valuation) - (current year's contributions) - (previous year's valuation) = (investment growth amount)
    (2) (investment growth amount) / (previous year's valuation) = (investment growth rate)
    then
    (3) take an average of all the growth rates worked out in (2)

You will probably laugh at my step (3) - it feels slapdash even to me.

But there must be a more correct way of doing it based only on knowing the dates and amounts of all the contributions, and the latest valuation?

Of course, none of the online calculators on pension company websites are any help. They are more interested in calculating what the retirement income I'll get based on their mythical 7%.
    Thanks in advance,
    tl
    Last edited by thunderlizard; 7 August 2013, 19:20.

Its pretty much what I do, but I have a fancy spreadsheet that does it for you.
    Originally posted by Stevie Wonder Boy
    I can't see any way to do it can you please advise?