• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contract Advice - Self Employed or Limited Company?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contract Advice - Self Employed or Limited Company?

Im a network engineer and have never done contract work before. I was made redundant by my employer 2 months ago after 5 years of full service. They now want to recruit me as a contractor for 6 months @ 200GBP/Day. I have looked around and asked what should be my way to go about the finance. So i was told to avoid umbrella since im staying more than 3 months and my salary will be above 25k, so its more tax efficient to setup a LTD Company. I've been looking into it and had my mind set, but my old manager has advised its not required as he recommended to stay as a Self-Employed contractor. I would like to get your advice as it seems there's less hassle with being self employed, but i don't mind looking for an accountant and doing invoices for a few minutes a week, if i am able to get a higher take-home with the LTD company option. Any advice will be much appreciated.