• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Monthly accounting services worth it?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Monthly accounting services worth it?

Hi all
    I'm new to daily rate contracting - I have just got a job through Hays - I have to go and see them today and the consultant is suggesting I go through limited company and they have some service which takes care of it all for about £100 per month.
    My question is - is it really that difficult to do it (the accounting admin) on your own? I was thinking I just need to set up a limited company and open a business bank account. Then pay (say £1000 per month and the rest dividends leaving room for the corporation tax). Is the monthly admin to do it oneself really that difficult? I am a Chartered Accountant and although I haven't worked on small companies accounts and tax for years, I still know the principles and would have thought I could work out the forms (PAYE etc) required with some internet research.
    Anyway - just wanted to check if other people have administered this on their own and how they found it?
    Thanks
    Guy

When I was in the UK last, I did all my own accounts and I'm not an accountant. If I was to move back to the UK, I'd use an accountant. As you are a chartered accountant, I cannot see any reason whatsoever for you to use someone else's services.
    Down with racism. Long live miscegenation!

Comment