• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

VAT : Working in Netherlands

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

VAT : Working in Netherlands

Hi,

I'm a UK-based contractor with a VAT-registered limited company currently working on-site in The Netherlands for a few months. The work is at a NL-based company and hence, I will invoice the client in Netherlands and get paid GB in UK Business account.

When I Invoice a company in NL that was VAT-registered in their local country, I mention my Company VAT number and client VAT Number as well and my client wanted me to mentioned on my Invoice that ""VAT is shifted to abc-company name NL VAT NUMBER " . Now I have a due for my VAT in UK and I am registered under flat-rate scheme. My accountant is telling me though i cannot claim VAT in Netherlands i still needs to pay VAT in UK as I am registered under Flat-rate. Can anyone please provide their valuable guidance here.

Thanks

own VAT number on the invoice.

But in this case, although I'm providing the service in-situ in Holland, the company being invoiced is in the UK.

Should the VAT on my invoice be zero-rated (reflecting the reality that the work is done abroad), or should it be at 17.5%

(because the company being invoiced is not abroad?).

Foreign VAT is a complicated issue – your problem relates to the ‘place of supply’ rules – for services the place of supply is deemed to be the country which the customer belongs to, not the physical location that you perform the services.