• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Howdo!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Howdo!

Afternoon folks!

My name's Tom, I'm an IT Infrastructure Support Engineer who's just been made redundant, and I live near Mansfield in Nottinghamshire.

I am looking at the possibility of setting up as a Contractor, and while I've read the PCG's "Guide to Freelancing", it still doesn't give me a clear picture in my head about what to do once I've registered my Company Name and so on. How do I begin, how do I get that first contract... and what's the process from start to finish of securing ANY contract?

What will my working day be like? How much time will I likely have for business related activity during my working day, and if I don't get any, how much work will I have at night when I get home?

It's all this "general", "real life works like THIS" info that I need; official guides seem to miss this part out...

Tom
    Anything you say will be misquoted and used against you!
    StoneBlog Prime

"What will my working day be like? How much time will I likely have for business related activity during my working day, and if I don't get any, how much work will I have at night when I get home?"

You still sound like a permie. Better get a permie job!