• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

IR35 - really that much different?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

IR35 - really that much different?

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to the forum and to the world of contracting. After a few years in IT testing i decided to set up Ltd and go it alone. However, IR35 is something that at the moment i am having big issues getting my head around. I have read through the 'rules and regs' and i know what status i am, however after looking at all these different calculators online it doesn't seem to make a massive difference in take home pay?

For example, one calculator says that on a basis of £350 a day for 48 weeks a year, the difference would be about £700 a month if i worked outside rather than in.. I appreciate that that's a big number, but i was expecting 1000's!

Is this right or am i missing something?

Thanks in advance!

It depends how the calculator works and what assumptions it makes. The value of expenses, pension contributions and salary can make a huge difference. If you want a definitive comparison based on real figures then try giving an accountant a call. They'll be able to do some more accurate figures for you.

If you have two shareholders that can make a massive difference, and that's something a calculator cannot take into account.
    ContractorUK Best Forum Adviser 2013

Comment

£700 a month isn't a lot? it is around a £15k a year wage to a permie. It's a lot to me!!
      'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment