• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Work permits

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Work permits

http://management.silicon.com/itpro/...9161175,00.htm

The UK's work permit scheme is being abused to import cheap IT workers from overseas at the expense of resident IT professionals, according to a report by trade union Amicus.

The union has expressed concern at the massive increase in the number of IT work permits granted - from just 1,800 in 1995 to 30,000 last year - and, in particular, the high number of permits for transfers within companies, which account for three-quarters of the total.

This comes at a time when the number of UK IT workers has declined slightly over the past four years, while pay data also shows that two-thirds of IT work permit holders are paid less than £30,000 when the average salary of an IT professional in the UK is £32,500.

Six of the top 10 work permit sponsors are headquartered in India, with Tata Consultancy Services (TCS) alone sponsoring more than 10,000 IT work permit applications during the last four years.

Amicus questioned whether all of these work permits are to address genuine skills gaps in the UK or whether these companies are bringing non-resident IT staff into the UK at below going pay-rates, particularly through the intra-company transfer permit route.