• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Company SIPP contribution - effective tax savings?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Company SIPP contribution - effective tax savings?

I am a contractor outside of IR35. I am trying to determine the tax savings if the company contributes to my SIPP.

Say the company makes £100,000 net (after expenses + paye payment). Corporate tax would be £20,000. I would take the balance of £80,000 as a dividend. As £32,000 is free of dividend tax, I would pay £10,800 dividend tax (22.5% of £48,000). Total tax payable = £20,000 + £10,800 = £30,800.

Now say the company makes a contribution of £10,000 to the SIPP:

Net is now £90,000. Corporate tax is 20% or £18,000. Dividends to me is £90,000 - £18,000 = £72,000. 22.5% dividend tax on (£72,000-£32,000) = £9,000. Total tax = £18,000 + £9,000 = £27,000. So Tax savings = £3,800 on a SIPP contribution of £10,000 = 38%

Let me know if this is correct: a 38% tax savings.

I'm not sure about some of your calculations, or that you're being as tax efficient as possible.

£100,000 net, does that include any wages?

How do you get £32,000 tax free dividends? Or the tax on the overall £80,000 in dividends.

Say you have a normal tax allowance, then you can earn £41,450 before higher rates. If you're taking a salary of £7,692 then you have £33,758 left of your basic rate band. That's gross dividends though, so you need to divide by 10 and multiply by 9 to get the net. So that becomes £30,382.