• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Pension contribution by one man Ltd company

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pension contribution by one man Ltd company

I am an IT contractor operating through a one man Ltd company. I am about to go into an IR35 caught contract for a few months and am planing the tax implication.

In order to minimise the overall tax hit of this particular contract, could I pay a minimal salary (~ £7k) just to avoid NIC and income tax and pay the rest of the balance all into my personal SIPP?

Will this relative large pension contribution be allowable for corporation tax? I am aware there is a £50k cap and this contract is below that value.

Thanks

Pension contributions and allowable motor & travel both reduce a deemed payment, yes.

There was discussion a while back about large pension payments not being allowable for CT purposes as they may not be "wholly and exclusively" for the business, but that was debunked by PCG I believe (although I can't find the exact article now, so I'm not sure if they've taken it down......)
    ContractorUK Best Forum Adviser 2013

Comment

Originally posted by Clare@InTouch View Post
      Pension contributions and allowable motor & travel both reduce a deemed payment, yes.